Under project settings there is an option to allow users to make their own notes that only they can see while they are working through a manifest.
When enabled on a project, each canvas will have a space where users will be able to take notes for each image inside each manifest.
Users notes are specific to the project and cannot be viewed by other users.
When they come back to a page where they have previously made a note, they will see a notification so they can easily go back and check the note.
Notes are not included in any export, or in search.